Showing posts with label Movie Review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Movie Review. Show all posts

07 September 2015

{Movie Fun} #SpiesNightIn with Melissa McCarthy

By: Me My Shelf And I | 07 September 2015 at 12:24 PM | | | | | 4 Comments so far

On Saturday night I live tweeted a #SpiesNightIn event at my house that was graciously sponsored by Fox Home Entertainment. Myself, and a few friends gathered with snacks for a night of giggles and since SPY stars Melisa McCarthy, giggles and full on guffaws were not something we came up short on!

 

The Pre-Game

With a quick stop into Sisu for a proper SPY hat, attendee Marta took it upon herself so see just how good her skills were at being a SPY.

IMG_2202IMG_2203IMG_2205IMG_2207IMG_2208IMG_2209

 

18 August 2015

{Movie Review} Strawberry Shortcake: Berry Tales

Available on DVD Now!

unnamed

Strawberry Shortcake: Berry Tales

The spotlight shines on the importance of being true to yourself in Strawberry Shortcake: Berry Tales. Join Plum in “Snowberry and the Seven Berrykins” as she learns to believe in herself when putting on a small and simple play for a young audience. In “Berryella and Prince Berry Charming,” Huck agrees to be in a production, but then quickly realizes that he’d be happier behind the scenes. Strawberry, Lemon and Raspberry star as three princesses on a quest to rule a kingdom in “The Littlest Berrykin,” and realize that they can never succeed without kindness and generosity. With berry important lessons, it’s curtain up on good times and friendship!

My Review

Little 6 and I snuggled in to watch STRAWBERRY SHORTCAKE: Berry Tales together and enjoyed every minute. Having grown up in the 80's I have to say, that Strawberry Shortcake was one of the remakes (reboot?) I was extremely excited about – instead of nervous/excited/please-don't-ruin-my-childhood-panic-flail. We've spent a lot of time watching the new episodes over the past few years, and I look forward to many more in the future!

03 August 2015

{Movie Monday} Review: Poltergeist

By: Me My Shelf And I | 03 August 2015 at 5:08 AM | | | Be the first to comment!

MovieMonday

11149703_1054405477921915_1031262252913411285_o

I'm of the mind set that things that have already been made, should just be left alone.

It's a epidemic lately, all the great movies from the 80's that Hollywood is digging their claws into, and redoing.  Since Poltergeist was one of my favorite movies as a kid, (yes I had a rather strange childhood, what of it?) I knew I had to see this 2015 version regardless of weather or not it was going to be amazing.

Now, you would think that when it comes to something as terrifying as Poltergeist 1982  was, they would be able to amp up the scare factors and make it even better with all this new technology. Sadly, all they did was give you a few extra jump scares. They take a few scenes that screwed me up as a kid and gave them a face lift, changing the maggots in the sink to worms – and the ghost hunter tech who gets bit in the side has a run in with a drill instead. Both were nice touches that made it it's own, with out messing with the general feel and things that I was hoping to see.

What really threw me was the "new" Tangina. She's now a six foot Irish man with his own ghost hunting TV show. Don't get me wrong, it's not like I thought that Zelda Rubenstein was going to pop up, but she's one of those things that makes it Poltergeist  for me. Actually, you know what I think if they had tried to copy her in any fashion, I might have gotten violent…you just don't mess with a legend.

All in all I liked the chemistry between the characters, there is humor where you would otherwise think there wouldn't be, and that made it more enjoyable, just enough of pay homage to the original to make it comfortable – but really I have to go firm with there wasn't a real reason to remake this classic.

The Final Word: Enjoyable enough to watch, but I won't likely watch it again. Still think the original is scarier. Let's hope the cast of this new version fairs better than the cast of the original. (And no, I have no relation to the Sweeney that killed actress Dominique Dunne….)

02 August 2015

{Re-Cap} Home Best Movie Night Ever!

By: Me My Shelf And I | 02 August 2015 at 12:48 AM | | | | | | | Be the first to comment!

home_fmn_logo

On July 31st our house had a DreamWorks HOME Best Movie Night Ever. In case you missed our tweets and images, I wanted to take a moment to re-cap everything and tell you what I thought of the movie & share party planning tips for you and yours to have the best Home Movie Night you can!!

The Supplies

67

DreamWorks and Fox were kind enough to send along a box so full of awesome, it blew us away. Everything we could possibly need for an epic party!

24 July 2015

{Movie Review} Kingsman

By: Me My Shelf And I | 24 July 2015 at 8:58 AM | | | | | | | 1 Comment so far

2015-Kingsman-The-Secret-Service-Cast-Poster-Wallpaper-800x450

A high-action, clever take on the good old spy movie where no one is safe, and every one could be your enemy.

I always fight the spy movie, no matter how entertaining they look, it always takes me the longest time to watch them. Then I end up 5 months after they are out, reviewing it and finally seeing what everyone else did. You know, like right now.

Heading up the big names of the cast are Michael Caine, Colin Firth and Samuel L. Jackson. We round things out with a band of no-names like Taron Egerton and Sofia Boutella – both of which I really hope to see in upcoming projects because normally the no-name tends to be a disappointment to me, but not in this case.

17 June 2015

{Movie Review} The Duff

By: Me My Shelf And I | 17 June 2015 at 12:05 AM | | | 6 Comments so far

125272_front

The DUFF
DVD/Blu-ray Available Now!
Starring: Mae Whitman
Robbie Amell
Bella thorne
Ken Jeong
Rating: 4.5 Birds

A high school senior instigates a social pecking order revolution after finding out that she has been labeled the DUFF - Designated Ugly Fat Friend - by her prettier, more popular counterparts.

 

I'm always game for a Young Adult book to movie adaptation and The DUFF has a little bit of everything. A combination of Mean Girls and She's All That, The DUFF will make you  laugh, cringe and cheer for the underdog all while learning – we're all the underdog now an again.

Mae Whitman delivers in a big way, showing there's nothing she can't do. I mean, the woman is the voice of Disney's  Tinkerbell for crying out loud…yea – bet you didn't know that. She feels like the next Ellen Page to me – who I also love!

Basically, after watching this – I felt a little like this:

DUFF_HomeE_fireworks

A few of my other favorite things other than Mae…well Ken Jeong for one. He brings his special brand of hilarity to THE DUFF, but no worries – he won't be popping out of any trunks butt naked. Sorry?

DUFF_HomeE_NoYouDidnt

Bella Thorne plays the same old role of beautiful, bitchy teen and you have to wonder if she's going to be type cast like this forever. As someone who had to watch every episode of Shake It Up, twice with my kids – it's easy to see she's capable of being more than dumb and pretty.

DUFF_HomeE_SorryNotSorry (1)

With it's great cast, swoon-worthy leading male and 100% honesty on life, t's really easy to see that THE DUFF is going to be one of the contemporary classics that linger on in infamy. The kind of movie we will watch again and again regardless of how old we get.

DUFF_HomeE_YouAre

19 December 2014

{Author Interview + Movie & Book Giveaway} Turk Pipkin author of When Angels Sing

By: Me My Shelf And I | 19 December 2014 at 8:58 AM | | | | | | 2 Comments so far

angels_sing_book_dvd_R3_1

Just in time for the holidays, I was offered a great movie and book bundle for review. Now, I'm a sucker for holiday movies, everything from A CHRISTMAS STORY to whatever sappy Lifetime movie might be showing at the moment. So when ANGEL'S SING came to me, I was all in!

It's hard to not be excited about a move that debuted at the SXSW (that's South By Southwest) Music Festival because it's got so many brilliant musicians in it, Willie Nelson, Harry Connick Jr. and Lyle Lovett. Or to not get all giddy when you find out the movie is based off a book written by Turk Pipkin, which to me makes it even more special – books to movies. LOVE IT!

Now I will admit that I have not yet had time to read the book with the flu taking over this house earlier this week, but the movie was great! Better than great, it's been added to our holiday wheelhouse of movies! It was funny, and heartwarming, and a bit sad at times. Promptly when it was over I told my husband I wanted 3 light-up reindeer for my front yard to name Burp, Snort and Poot. And I will start sining the 12 Days of Christmas as the family in the movie does, making it up as they go along. I loved it, and so did my husband which is saying something because he's kinda set on his Holiday Trifecta of movies, and that's what he sticks to.

Author Interview withTurk Pipkin!

Check out this fantastic interview and then enter for your own set of the movie + book below!

Thank you so much for being here today Turk!

Thanks for your interest in the book and the movie!

24 October 2014

{Movie Review} Ouija

By: Me My Shelf And I | 24 October 2014 at 11:12 AM | | | | 3 Comments so far

images

One would think that a movie made by the people who brought you THE TEXAS CHAINSAW MASSACRE and INSIDIOUS, would be terrifying. That, sadly wasn't the case with OUIJA.

OUIJA is out in theaters today, but I saw it late last night and man was I geared up for a fright fest. Instead what I got was a predictable plot, with decent enough acting, and a few jump scares. Of course I have a very low startle threshold, so you can get me with a jump scare fairly easy – I was the only one in the theater even remotely moved by these few and far between moments.

A group of relative no-names bring together the cast of OUIJA. The biggest names being Shelley Henning, best known for her current role on TEEN WOLF, and Daren Kagasoff best known for his role on THE SECRET LIFE OF THE AMERICAN TEENAGER. I was worried a bit about Daren, since I've not seen him in anything else but SECRET LIFE, but was pleasantly surprised.

In OUIJA, teen Debbie (Shelley Henning) seemingly commits suicide and in the wake of her death her family moves away, leaving the care of their house to her best friend, Laine (Olivia Cooke). Laine of course knows there's something more going on, and when searching her house, stumbles upon a Ouija Board and evidence that Debbie had been playing alone. The rules of the game state that you should never play alone. Something dark is released into the house when Laine insists on using the board to communicate with Debbie, to get answers. As you would imagine, kids start dropping like flies in the most predictable of ways.

28 April 2014

{Movie Monday} Review The Secret Life of Walter Mitty

By: Me My Shelf And I | 28 April 2014 at 10:05 AM | | | | | | 1 Comment so far

MovieMonday1

Check out my review of Ben Stiller's latest flick – The Secret Life of Walter Mitty!

unnamed4

Starring: Ben Stiller, Kristen Wigg, Jon Daly and
DVD/BluRay Release Date: April 1st, 2014

A day-dreamer escapes his anonymous life by disappearing into a world of fantasies filled with heroism, romance and action. When his job along with that of his co-worker are threatened, he takes action in the real world embarking on a global journey that turns into an adventure more extraordinary than anything he could have ever imagined.

Who doesn't find themselves day dreaming about bigger, better or more interesting things? Walter Mitty is extraordinary in that we don't just see him day dream, we see his day dreams.

Stuck in the photo archives of TIME magazine, Walter has lived 16 years of his life through the  photos that pass over his desk, but when a very important piece of film (yes, some photographers actually still use film!) is missing, Walter has no choice but to track down the photographer half way across the world to figure out where the negative ended up.

This tale of stepping outside your comfort zone in the biggest way possible and living the dreams you once had is inspiring and beautiful. Complete with the humor you would expect from Stiller and Wigg, Walter Mitty is a must see and a must read!

From Wikipedia:

"The Secret Life of Walter Mitty" (1939) is a short story by James Thurber. The most famous of Thurber's stories,[1] it first appeared in The New Yorker on March 18, 1939, and was first collected in his book My World and Welcome to It (Harcourt, Brace and Company, 1942).[2] It has since been reprinted in James Thurber: Writings and Drawings (The Library of America, 1996, ISBN 1-883011-22-1), is available on-line on the New Yorkers's website,[3] and is one of the most frequently anthologized short stories in American literature.

unnamed (8)

What's the most frequent day dream you have?

Walter Mitty gets a sold 4 Bird rating from me! If you've not yet seen it – you need to remedy that ASAP!

4Birds

Amber

Thank you to my friends at @FoxHomeEnt for the review copy!

25 March 2014

{Movie Review} The Book Thief

By: Me My Shelf And I | 25 March 2014 at 8:55 AM | | | Be the first to comment!

the-book-thief-dvd-release-date

Normally, with a book to movie adaptation my husband will watch the movie with me but be a little annoyed the whole way through. Even though he won't admit it publically, he liked Twilight and Beautiful Creatures AND City of Bones…but he still gives me a good eye role or two when I pull out a new movie I want to watch.  However, with The Book Thief, he didn't even have a chance to because he was enthralled with it from the opening monologue.

And I know exactly what he was feeling. From second one, the movie is visually stunning and perfectly paced. The actors, particularly Sophie Nélisse seem to have been born to tell you this heartbreaking and important tale of courage and life during WW2.

dvd box art

I was stunned how I disliked some characters from the start, such as Mama (Roasa) and by the mid way point of the movie you see the characters gruff exterior start to chip away to reveal a kind-hearted woman who guards herself with sarcasm and a strict household. Unbelievable character development was just a sweet addition to this amazing movie.

Generally, I have a very hard time, emotionally, dealing with any movies that touch on WW2. When I was 14 I visited concentration camps and the memory and feeling has carried with me every single day since. I can't get through a movie that even mentions WW2 with out a minor meltdown and day of depression afterward.THE BOOK THIEF did not have this effect on me, and since I know that the day I spent in those places will never leave me, I have to say it was the fantastic way the tale is told. And not just one tale – but many all wound together all which intersect time and time again. This has become one of my all time favorite movies, and I can't say enough about it.

Now, if you've not yet seen this – I warn you fully to get the tissues ready. I want to tell you it has a happy ending, and in some ways depending on the angle in which you look at things, it does. But you will still cry. And it will be an ugly cry.

Don't borrow or rent this, buy it. It's a gem you need to own – right along with the book.

unnamed

NewAmber

23 March 2014

{Movie Review} Divergent

By: Me My Shelf And I | 23 March 2014 at 11:38 AM | | | | | 6 Comments so far

download (5)

Unless you've been living under a rock for the past year, you know that DIVERGENT came out in theaters this weekend.

I've not attended a midnight premier since The Hunger Games, mostly because as big of a fan as I am – dude I just can't stay up until 2-3 AM and then drive home. Wow, I am getting old…any way – I knew I coulnd't pull off the midnight showing for Divergent so I braved the crowds Saturday and took my nearly 10 year old daughter to see it with me. I went in very skeptic and expecting the worst. I'm sorry, Book to Movie adaptations haven't gone over so well lately…and I was ready for this to be a flop. Not to mention, despite the trailers, I was not sold on Shailene Woodly as Tris.

Despite the poor preview choices made by Summit (maybe it's the movie theater who picks them?) of having The Purge 2 leading things off for a movie geared at the 12+ book to movie adaptation..everything else was…well, perfect.

Shailene redeemed herself from the first moment, something I didn't expect at all,let alone so soon in the film. Ashley Judd couldn't have been more prefect for the role of her mother – and despite the fact that they are playing love interests in TFiOS….Ansel Elgort was, expected – an amazing Caleb!

Many had apprehensions of Theo James playing Four – he was never a worry for me as he was in a show I loved called Bedlam. It's a UK show – but if you like creepy shows and can find it, I highly suggest you watching it!

My favorite part of the movie – was the introduction of the Dauntless jumping the train and then the Dauntless running back to catch it after the choosing ceremony. The music was so perfect and I had a huge smile on my face as I was thrust right back into the book. I wanted to get up and run with them!! I give DIVERGENT 5 stars, I'm going to see it again – and not just because I missed Veronica Roth's cameo due to a candy mishap with the 10 year old…lol.

I really hope DIVERGENT beings in enough that the idea for a sequel isn't even a question. Since I didn't really enjoy reading INSURGENT, maybe the movie adaptation will visually show me what I felt I was missing.  I'm overjoyed with how they stuck so close to the book, something they don't do a lot, be it for translation issues from book to screen (which are necessary) or the fact they want to spin it and make it their own…(Vampire Academy anyone…). So well don't Summit, well done Veronica!

Did you see DIVERGENT this weekend? What did you think?

NewAmber

03 March 2014

{Movie Monday} Review: The Bling Ring

By: Me My Shelf And I | 03 March 2014 at 12:01 AM | | | | | 4 Comments so far

MovieMonday

I finally caught up and watched THE BLING RING! And man, how did I miss all the DRAMA surrounding it’s creation?

Quick reminder – THE BLING RING book was written (based on true events) by Nancy Jo Sales and published May 2013 by IT Books. The movie, based off the book, was directed by Sophia Coppala and stared Emma Watson and came out only a month after the book!

16248269bling_ring

So first things first. This really happened – more or less. The kids portrayed in the movie really did break into celebrity homes, steal their belongings and sell them or keep them to wear themselves. This wasn’t a one time thing – this stretched over about a year in ‘08-‘09, and resulted in a total of 3 million dollars worth of stolen goods from the likes of Paris Hilton, Audrina Patridge, Orlando Bloom and more.

I went into the movie, not having read the book and having no real prior knowledge about these kids, their lives or even the court cases against each of them. Yea, I saw it on the news in passing when it happened – but the rich being robbed, I don’t mean to sound heartless but I just didn’t care at the time.

This is very much an Independent Film. You know, the kind of film that the really cultured have an appreciation for but the majority of the world look at with a slight head tilt trying to figure out what they are missing. The acting, or “monotone-emotionless-line-reading” as it would more accurately be described as, drove me up the wall. Emma Watson’s character Nicki was especially horrid, the forced American accent was painful to listen to. Thankfully I actually sought out an interview with the girl who Emma was supposed to be portraying mid-way through the movie that helped me understand why the overly dramatic valley girl tone was even attempted. It made things easier to swallow for the rest of the film.

I was entertained enough as I have a soft spot for “True Stories”. Once I am done with the movie I tend to obsess a bit and hunt down all the info. The “where are they now” shots. Who’s still in jail – you know, all the good stuff. Well, guess what I found out…

1. The officer (in the movie he’s the actual guy who hauls Emma Watsons character out

of her house) got in HUGE trouble for consulting with Nancy Jo and Sophia because the case was still under investigation when he was handing out information.

2. Because of that, everyone involved got reduced sentences. The judge actually told the kids they should thank him, because of his bad choice they were getting off lighter.

3. Paris Hilton, though one of the victims in this case, was not only in the movie but offered up her house as a filming location. That girl will do anything for  role I a movie, and her house…well let’s just say it’s so not what I expected. At least I now know where she hides everything…lol

4. One of the items taken from Audrina Patridge’s house was her grandmothers engagement ring. Even though a lot of the items were recovered and returned to their owners, sadly this piece was not.

All in all I’m glad I watched the movie – but I’m not necessarily sure I’m okay with the way it and the book came to be. It was just negligent and selfish of the detective to divulge classified information for a 45 second role in a move and a book written about one of his cases. Thankfully this wasn’t a capitol murder chase!!  Nancy Jo as a reporter/magazine  article writer clearly would have known what he was doing was wrong. I’m just really dumbfounded by the series of events that took place incorrectly and yet this book and movie still came to be.

Have you seen THE BLING RING? What did you think?

NewAmber

09 January 2014

{Movie Review} Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters

By: Me My Shelf And I | 09 January 2014 at 9:56 AM | | | | | 1 Comment so far

PercySeamonstersPercy-Jackson-Sea-of-Monsters-Cover

 

Okay, here’s the part where I get my butt handed to me by the die-hard Percy Jackson fans. Does this fandom have a name? I feel like I should have looked that up before starting this review. I digress, okay so here’s why every true fan of PJ and his band of merry demi-gods might come at me with one of those pen-sword things….

I loved this movie. *ducks* Unapologetically adored every single moment.

Why, you ask, would anyone who loved this book, be mad at me for loving the movie? Well, I too am a part of fandoms. I take them quite seriously and so I understand from the point of view of the die-hard (insert fandom name here)’s why they might be like “Ugh, how!? Why? But this was left out and this and this”. No I get it. I do this. The reason I am totally able to love this movie with out thinking it has a single fault is because I…oh Gods this could get me in more trouble than me loving the movie….

I haven’t actually read the book *ducks and cringes*

tumblr_mklb08a8wF1qf32k0o1_500

I know. I know. Bad Amber, bad! Look I had a bad reading year (don’t get me started) it’s on my list for 2014, or it will be in five minutes. The point is I want to read these books. I loved the movies and I know from reading other Riordan books with my daughter that the action, humor and did I mention action is addicting!

This it not a book review though, it is a movie review so I am going to tell you my most favorite-est (my blog, my words..okay?) parts of the movie, and none of the ones I didn’t like – because there were none…in no particular order….*drumroll please*

1. Nathan Fillion as Hermes, and more to the point the fact he managed to work in a comment about a show being great and therefore it was canceled after only one season. He manages this in every single movie and TV show, I swear. It’s almost like an Easter egg. (PS if you still don’t get it, I’m talking about his show Firefly!!)

2. Grover dressed up as a girl. A Cyclopes girl. With a big googley eye on his forehead. Seriously, I laughed and laughed!

ku-xlarge

3. Jake Able. Nothing specific, just Jake Able.

4. The fact Percy doesn’t always win. I think that it’s really important for young kids to see the hero fail from time to time. To have to work for things and work with people you might not generally work with to succeed.

tumblr_mwy0rwsw3p1r8tbm6o1_250

5. Stanly Tucci – I just really like to say his name. Also, I love that his character Mr. D, constantly calls Percy the wrong name. 

6. How Percy learns to trust in his dad a little more from the brother he didn’t know he had.

7. And most importantly, this was something my whole family, even the 4 year old, could watch together and enjoy thoroughly. It’s rare that we get a lot of movies like that as the kids get older or tastes change.

I adore having the opportunity to review this movie for the blog, thank you Fox Home Ent! (@FoxHomeEnt) Any one who has read the books- if it’s not going to ruin my life entirely tell me how it differed from the book. I plan to pick it up in the next couple weeks, and then I’ll do a re-capo ojn my thoughts between the two!

Until then, this movie get 5 birds from me and I just hope that they make more of them. And soon! Isn’t he getting a little old to be playing Percy now?

5birdnew

amber1

28 March 2013

{Book to Movie} The Host

By: Me My Shelf And I | 28 March 2013 at 5:14 AM | | | | | | | 3 Comments so far

What happens when you get the opportunity to see a movie early, meet the author of the book, and two of the male leads?  Well, step into this post and see!

the-host-movie-poster-2

As many of you may or may not know, The Host, which was written by Stephenie Meyer, comes out as a movie tomorrow!  Though many may not know who much of the cast is (unless you’re older like me), I can assure you – if you like sci-fi, romance, and a little bit of humanity, you have a reason to see this.  Or maybe you just like Stephenie Meyer, in which case, go see this and support her! (Ok ok, you have a crush on Jake Abel and Max Irons, there I said it!)

About 2 1/2 weeks ago, I got the opportunity to attend a pre-screening of the film, followed by a Q&A with Stephenie, Max and Jake.  A couple of days later, I also attended a book signing with the trio.  What happened?  Obviously the movie, but then a slew of questions in a short 15 minute period at the screening – and a whole lot of people showing up to a teeny tiny bookshop to meet these three!  Further – what happened with the Q&A?  Well, actually you can check out the full video HERE (video taken by Stacey over at PageTurners).  My brain didn’t think “Hey turn on the camera” until about halfway through.  Sorry about that, but major thanks to Stacey for having the mind to hit record!  I was able to get a few photos though, and here are the best!

IMG_9156IMG_9166IMG_9189

Those boys were a riot!  Max with his accent, and Jake with his…well go watch that video, you’ll see what I mean!  Of course, Stephenie was exactly as poised as I remembered from past events (okay, premieres).

What about the book signing?  Well, with well over the 750 tickets actually given, things had to move pretty quickly as there was only a 3 hour window to fit us all in!  Who was lucky number 3 though?  This girl!  Now, in my crazy mind, I also got another number which wasn’t until 737, but it was all well worth it – word vomit and all!  I even created a shirt for the event.  Oh, and Stephenie signed it! Check it out!

IMG_1417[1]IMG_9208

Ok…so enough about the experience, you all want to know “How was the movie?”  In one word: Fantastic!  I give it 4.5 stars…and coming from a 5 star review of the book (which you can go back to HERE), that’s pretty good right?  I will say, there were obviously a few things here and there that I was disappointed with – lack of characters/character development in the film, small tweaks (like the appearance of the Seeker), and a couple things that seemed a little less in place – but I also had to think about how small the budget was, and what Andrew Niccol’s vision was.  Thankfully, I got a little more insight to some of those things via videos from the roundtable discussion with fansites in LA!  Anyhow, I digress, the movie was cast extremely well.  Though Saoirse Ronan is relatively unknown, her portrayal of Wanda/Melanie is beyond words.  The way the fighting between Melanie and Wanda takes place is incredible.  Diane Kruger did a phenomenal job as The Seeker.  She has a great way of making you think she’s evil without actually appearing too evil (since the souls aren’t supposed to be ‘harmful’).

Max Irons – all I can say is “yum” (am I allowed to say that?) He portrays Jared in this way that you don’t know whether to love or hate him…and then there’s Jake Abel who has to make a complete 180 in the film, which is honestly hard for many actors – but he took the cake with this!  Those are really the main four that are a constant part of the movie that you’ll want to look out for.  There’s also Chandler Canterbury who plays Jamie.  I have a feeling he’ll get more parts after critics, film makers, and fans alike, see this movie!  There are a couple of extremely familiar faces in the cast for the “almost 30s” and up!  Who?  William Hurt and Frances Fischer, who play Uncle Jeb and Aunt Maggie respectively!

In all honesty, I didn’t know how much I’d end up enjoying the movie since I am extremely critical when a book becomes a movie – but I really did enjoy this, and even happened to cry a couple of times (for happy and sad reasons) during it!  So please, go see this movie!  And if you went to a screening or book signing and have anything to add, feel free to leave us a comment!  We’d love to know what your experience was!

talking to Stephenie

Oh yea, that directly above is me talking to Stephenie Meyer.  I only identified it because of my awesome Forever tattoo (once a Twihard, always a Twihard).

*photo credit to the Naperville Sun

Rosmelie Sig

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...