12 February 2015

{Book Review} Denton Little's Deathdate by Lance Rubin

By: Me My Shelf And I | 12 February 2015 at 12:02 AM | | | | | |

18883231

Denton Little's Deathdate
Author: Lance Rubin
Release Date: April 14th 2015
Publisher: Knopf BFYR
Pages: 352
Rating: 4.5 Birds

Fans of John Green and Matthew Quick: Get ready to die laughing.

Denton Little's Deathdate takes place in a world exactly like our own except that everyone knows the day they will die. For 17-year-old Denton Little, that's tomorrow, the day of his senior prom.

Despite his early deathdate, Denton has always wanted to live a normal life, but his final days are filled with dramatic firsts. First hangover. First sex. First love triangle (as the first sex seems to have happened not with his adoring girlfriend, but with his best friend's hostile sister. Though he's not totally sure. See: first hangover.) His anxiety builds when he discovers a strange purple rash making its way up his body. Is this what will kill him? And then a strange man shows up at his funeral, claiming to have known Denton's long-deceased mother, and warning him to beware of suspicious government characters…. Suddenly Denton's life is filled with mysterious questions and precious little time to find the answers.

 

Debut author Lance Rubin takes us on a fast, furious, and outrageously funny ride through the last hours of teenager Denton Little's life, as he searches for love, meaning to his life, answers, and (just maybe) a way to live on.

I'm a lover of opening lines. Good opening lines. I feel like that's the thing every author wants, that one sentence that sucks the reader in and never let's them go. For me, DENTON LITTLE'S DEATHDATE had more than a great opening line – he had a great opening set of paragraphs – which is even more epic, in my eyes. Don't worry, I'm going to share them with you. (note: this is from an ARC and we all know things can change from ARC to print. Though if the opening of this  book is one of them, I'll riot.)

    "I don't think this is my bed.
     It's hard to know for sure, as my head is in excruciating pain, but there's something about this bed that doesn't feel like me. It's got extra fluff.
     This is disappointing. I had a very clear vision for how the day of my funeral would start, and it involved waking up in my own bed."

Okay, right? You see what I mean….he woke up on the day of his funeral (?!?!)…I mean – who doesn't want to keep reading?

Denton is you average teenager, more or less. He does happen know when he's going to die – but then again in the world that Lance Rubin has brought us, so does most everyone else. It took me just a tiny bit of pages to grasp onto Denton's voice, it felt really snarky and to-the-point for this kind of tale – but I just don't think it could have been told any differently. It needed it, with out it, I likely would have hated the book. Why beat around the bush when you're likely to drop dead at any moment?

Denton spends his last day, in a cloud of chaos brought on by that very opening paragraph. The mystery and questions just build from there and cover everything from strange men confronting him, doing the right thing, wondering if he did the wrong thing, girls, classmates, learning about the death of his mother..and so much more. Denton Little's Deathdate is anything but little!

Crazy_stiles_smileBefore I go – to Lance Rubin: Your Teen Wolf  references did not go unnoticed or unappreciated, and I see a little Stiles in Denton…well done my friend. Well done.

I want to know:
And to my readers – I ask you this: If you could know when you would die, not the time or how – just the date, would you want to know?

Add To Goodreads
unnamed (7) unnamed (8)

AMAZEBALLSARCREVIEWcliffcoverloveCREATIVEmust-read
PAGETURNERrefreshingSUSPENSEUNIQUEya

 

Amber

No comments:

Post a Comment

Me, My Shelf and I is an Award Free Blog. Your continued support is all the award we need! Thank you so much!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...