31 July 2014

{Book Review} A Girl Called Fearless by Catherine Linka

By: Me My Shelf And I | 31 July 2014 at 12:01 AM | | | | | | |

18404156

A Girl Called Fearless
Author: Catherine Linka
Pages: 368
Release Date: May 6th 2014
Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin
Rating: 4.5 Birds

Avie Reveare has the normal life of a privileged teen growing up in L.A., at least as normal as any girl’s life is these days. After a synthetic hormone in beef killed fifty million American women ten years ago, only young girls, old women, men, and boys are left to pick up the pieces. The death threat is past, but fathers still fear for their daughters’ safety, and the Paternalist Movement, begun to "protect" young women, is taking over the choices they make.Like all her friends, Avie still mourns the loss of her mother, but she’s also dreaming about college and love and what she’ll make of her life. When her dad "contracts" her to marry a rich, older man to raise money to save his struggling company, her life suddenly narrows to two choices: Be trapped in a marriage with a controlling politician, or run. Her lifelong friend, student revolutionary Yates, urges her to run to freedom across the border to Canada. As their friendship turns to passion, the decision to leave becomes harder and harder. Running away is incredibly dangerous, and it’s possible Avie will never see Yates again. But staying could mean death.From Catherine Linka comes this romantic, thought-provoking, and frighteningly real story, A Girl Called Fearless, about fighting for the most important things in life—freedom and love.

A GIRL CALLED FEARLESS first landed on my radar, when author Catherine Linka reached out for me to design some swag for it. The cover intrigued me, and was so much fun to work with. But it was the synopsis that really set my wheels spinning, wondering, and for the most part being 100% frustrated I couldn't get reading it the second the ARC arrived.

When I finally got to dig into it, I was transported to a terrifyingly possible world where young woman are having all their rights taken away in an effort to protect them, after an epidemic wiped out 50 million woman 10 years ago, including Avie's own mother. A whole generation of children, left motherless.

I spent a good portion of this book trying to put myself in Avie's position. In fact it was almost impossible not to. What would I do? Thing about it, what would you do if your right to marry for love was taken away? How about just the simple joy of privacy – to the point where even your computers or phones locked out things like news and current events, and nearly everything else? What if you coulnd't go to college for being a woman or what if you were suddenly not allowed in certain places with out body guards or just not allowed period as they are "not safe for woman". How would you like it if the government controlled everything about you, simply because you were a woman and they believed it's helping to protect you?

Would you run?  Could you leave behind the few bright spots in your dark and sheltered life? Would you be fearless? Could you be fearless? I have to admit I wavered back and forth with the decisions that Avie makes, wondering if  I would have the courage to say and do the things she does, or the conscious to not do things that could have been done. 

A GIRL CALLED FEARLESS will take you on an endless roller coaster ride of  ever changing emotions and full blown action. In it's 368 pages you will see so many fantastic places and meet so many incredibly interesting people, both friend and foe of Avie. You will want for nothing when this book ends, except maybe another book…but being that it's a stand alone you'll have to settle for starting back over at page 1 and reliving it again.

A GRIL CALLED FEARLESS is perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and the Chemical Garden Series!

Visit Catherine Linka on Twitter.

Add To Goodreads

unnamed (7) unnamed (8) 

4half

Amber

2 comments:

  1. I love the Chemical Garden series! The synopsis of this sounds so intriguing! Great review. :)

    -Kimi at Geeky Chiquitas

    ReplyDelete
  2. I really, really enjoyed this book! And just found out a sequel is due to be released May 2015!

    http://confessionsofabookgeek.wordpress.com/2014/04/25/review-a-girl-called-fearless/

    ReplyDelete

Me, My Shelf and I is an Award Free Blog. Your continued support is all the award we need! Thank you so much!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...