07 December 2011

{Book Review} The Girl is Murder

By: Me My Shelf And I | 07 December 2011 at 11:16 PM | | | | | |

tgim

The Girl is Murder
Author: Kathryn Miller Haines
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 352
Publisher: Roaring Book Press
Published: July 19, 2011
Rating: 5 Birds

Iris Anderson is only 15, but she's quickly mastering the art of deception in this YA novel for fans of Veronica Mars. It's the Fall of 1942 and Iris's world is rapidly changing. Her Pop is back from the war with a missing leg, limiting his ability to do the physically grueling part of his detective work. Iris is dying to help, especially when she discovers that one of Pop's cases involves a boy at her school. Now, instead of sitting at home watching Deanna Durbin movies, Iris is sneaking out of the house, double crossing her friends, and dancing at the Savoy till all hours of the night. There's certainly never a dull moment in the private eye business.

Thank you to The {Teen} Book Scene for hosting the tour for The Girl is Murder. We are the second participant on the tour.  To see more from other blogs about the book and the author, click on the banner below.

My take: When I was given the short synopsis for this book, I was not by any means immediately caught – but at the same time I thought giving a mystery book a try would be something fun and different.  I also never watched Veronica Mars so I didn’t get the reference.  Taking this book on was extremely fun though!

Meeting Iris in the book was like meeting most other girls that are in high school, only this was set back in the 1940s so things at the time were a bit different. She’s left going from being upperclass, to someone who has to “suffer” going to public school because her father is all she truly has left.  So what’s the big deal?  That everyone in the town is a gossip, a blatant liar, or becoming/has been involved in the war. What does the war have to do with Iris and this story?  Only about everything!

Seeing the world of this time through Iris’ eyes was a new experience.  She’s going through the loss of her mother, and trying to shine brighter (in a sense) in her fathers.  He hasn’t really been there for her since she was ten and he joined military forces – so what exactly coerces her into helping him?  Or at least trying to help him…

All the efforts Iris puts into helping her father, and making new friends, doesn’t go without a hitch.  Things get out of hand at different times with different people – and her trust earned from others is completely tested.  When Tom is the one who goes missing, and she tries to help her father in solving the case…not only does she have to prove herself to others (or so she thinks) but she has to learn who to trust in the time.

Iris’ journey was extremely well thought out by author Kathryn Miller Haines.  I think she did a phenomenal job giving me a sense of direction throughout the entire story, and making me believe Iris’ every emotion.  The story was fantastic and I could not have asked more from a mystery!

Find Kathryn Miller Haines on:

5birdnew

rosmelie new sig

3 comments:

  1. I love the 1940's (probably because of all my Grandmother's stories about getting engaged/married/etc in that era) so I htink sounds like an interesting read! (And as the mother of an amputee, that part of the story also grabs my attention, even if it's not a huge part that it plays.)

    ReplyDelete
  2. I have a copy of this that I haven't gotten to yet. I'm always excited when I see this era featured in YA fiction--it doesn't get a lot of attention. The thing that's holding me back is the fact that it sounds a bit middle grade for my taste--and I don't read a whole lot of MG.
    Ruby

    ReplyDelete
  3. I would say, some of the things in this book are more on that side of things, but I think you have to go in with the mind that it's not an adult mystery and it's kind of on that cusp of being a young adult (fully) mystery...I'd say a few tweaks would have made it full blow YA, but I enjoyed it nonetheless and am willing to read any level.

    ReplyDelete

Me, My Shelf and I is an Award Free Blog. Your continued support is all the award we need! Thank you so much!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...