11 August 2011

{Book Review} Cold Kiss

By: Me My Shelf And I | 11 August 2011 at 1:50 AM |
10429015

Cold Kiss
Author: Amy Garvey
Pages: 336
Pub Date: September 20, 2011
Publisher: Harper Teen
Source: OUaT Book Tours
Rating: 4 Birds

When her boyfriend, Danny, is killed in a car accident, Wren can’t imagine living without him. Wild with grief, she uses the untamed powers she’s inherited to bring him back. But the Danny who returns is just a shell of the boy she once loved.
Wren has spent four months keeping Danny hidden, while her life slowly unravels around her. Then Gabriel DeMarnes transfers to her school and somehow, inexplicably, he can sense her secret. Wren finds herself drawn to Gabriel, who is so much more alive than the ghost of the boy she loved. But Wren can’t turn her back on Danny or the choice she made for him—and she realizes she must find a way to make things right, even if it means breaking her own heart.
Amy Garvey’s transcendent teen debut is perfect for fans of Shiver and Beautiful Creatures. Wren’s unforgettable voice and story will stay with readers long after the last page is turned.

Cold Kiss grabbed me from the moment I picked it up. It’s interesting take on voodoo, reanimation and magic are something you have to read to believe. It’s fresh and it’s different and it’s worth not only adding to your TBR list but pre-ordering as well.

Our protagonist, Wren is beautifully written. Garvey captures the indecisiveness of being a teenager and mixes it with the unbelievably hard decisions and life lessons Wren has in front of her: death, and the un-death of boyfriend, friends, new boy..Garvey surrounds Wren with a full cast of strongly written characters who keep the story moving at a fast pace making it incredibly hard to put the book down!

My only issue with this book is it’s pretty vague on the magic she uses, while it’s a fictional blend of a few different things having a little clarification on it would really have been nice. A name, some explanation of the powers from family, anything really would have helped.

What’s a little harder to deal with is that her dad is mentioned quite a lot, and though he’s not in the picture, the argument and discussion of him and happens a lot but you never really find out where he is. I know with a great plot line this shouldn't be the biggest deal ever, but I think the book focuses on it enough that it’s a huge let down to not learn anything about it when the book wraps up.

Regardless of a lack of information at the end, which may not even bother you as it did me – I am giving this book 4 Birds, and applaud it for being original and engaging!

4birdsnew

amber copy

2 comments:

  1. Bummer about not letting us in on the info at the end! But it still sounds interesting. I have this one for review. I like it involves voodoo. Didn't know that! Now, I'm really intrigued. Great review :)

    ReplyDelete

Me, My Shelf and I is an Award Free Blog. Your continued support is all the award we need! Thank you so much!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...